Patna and Muzaffarpur included in new smart cities’ list

Central government today announced another list of 30 cites including Patna and Muzaffarpur, both in Bihar, for development as smart cities taking the total cities picked up so far to 90 under Smart City Mission launched on June 25, 2015.

Thiruvananthapuram in Kerala, Naya Raipur in Chhattisgarh and Rajkot in Gujarat figure in the new list of 30 cities announced on Thursday for development as smart cities under the Centre’ Smart City Mission.

The latest announcement takes to 90, the number of cities selected for part financing by the Centre under the scheme.

Announcing the new list of smart cities at an event here, Urban Development Minister M Venkaiah Naidu said that 45 cities contested for the 40 available smart city slots, but only 30 were selected to ensure their feasibility and workable plans.

Do you like the article? Or have an interesting story to share? Please write to us at [email protected], or connect with us on Facebook and Twitter.

Quote of the day: ““Power does not corrupt. Fear corrupts... perhaps the fear of a loss of power.” 
― John Steinbeck