Five from Bihar announced in the list of Padma awardees. - PatnaBeats

Five from Bihar announced in the list of Padma awardees.

On the eve of Republic Day, the Ministry of Home Affairs announced the list of Padma awardees for 2021 on January 25.

The Padma awards are the highest paid civilian awards of the country, categorized as Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

The awards are presented by the President of India at a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhawan in Delhi every year.

Out of 119 conferred Padma awards by the President, five are to be awarded from Bihar.

Shri Ramachandra Manjhi has been awarded Padma Shri for his contribution to the art culture of Bihar.

A folk theater artist, who from 12 years of age started training with Bikhari Thakur’s Naach Troupe has served as torch bearer of the art form. He was born in a Dalit family, in the small village Tujapur of Chhapra district. He masters in the performance of ‘Launda Naach’, a traditional form of folk theater from Bihar which is performed by all male artist.

He was awarded Sangeet Natak Academi award of 2017 in 2019 by President Kovind.

His performances have been attended by Moti Lal Nehru, Jawaharlal Nehru, Indra Gandhi, Rajiv Gandhi, Jagjivan Ram, Jaiprakash Narayan, as well as matinee idols like Suraiya, Helen, Waheeda Rahman, Meena Kumari and Naushad.


Ms. Dulari Devi has been awarded Padma Shri in the field of art.

A Master Painter and Instructor in Mithila Art, Dulari Devi has come a long way from working as house help to becoming an art teacher at Mithila art institute. She has been awarded with the State of Bihar Award for Excellence in Art in 2013. Hailing from Madhubani district She is now in great demand for her murals, closely observed village scenes, and paintings of Ganesh and Durga.

Ms. Mridula Sinha (Posthumous), named for Padma Shri in the field of Art and literature.

Former governor of Goa passed away in 2020 at the age of 77. Born in 1942 in Muzzafarpur district of Bihar, she has contributed to the field of art, literature and social issues. She was the first woman Governor of Goa from 2014-2019.

She has written more than 46 books in her lifetime which include ‘Jyon mehandi ko rang’ (novel), ‘Nayi Devyani’ (novel), ‘Gharwaas’ (novel) and many more. She has also written a biography on late Rajmata Vijayraje Scindia.

‘Sakshatkar’, ‘Ek Diye Ki Diwali’, ‘Apna Jeevan’ are some of her story collections. She has also written essays for children namely ‘Aine ke saamne’, ‘Maanvi ke Naate’ and ‘Bihar Ki Lok Kathaye’. Sinha was also a former head of the BJP’s ‘Mahila Morcha’ (woman wing) and remained its executive member for long before being appointed Goa governor in 2014.

Dr. Dilip Kumar Singh has been awarded Padma Shri for his contribution in the field of medicine.

Dr. Dilip Kumar Singh, 92-year-old Doctor hails from Pirpainti village in Bhagalpur district of Bihar. He is known for his breakthrough contribution in the health sector in Bihar. In the 1980’s he is known for importing Polio vaccine from Russia quite before the Indian government did and inoculated people for free of cost.  He is one of the few doctors who has served and been awarded with Shiromani award, lifetime achievement award presented by Indian Medical Association and The Padmabhushan Kamlabai Hospet Award.

Shri Ram Vilas Paswan (Posthumous), named for Padma Bhushan for his contribution in Public affairs.

The president of Lok Janshakti Party, passed away in October last year. Born in Khagaria district of Bihar, the Dalit leader was known for his breakthrough political journey. He had been the nine-time Lok Sabha member and Rajya Sabha MP.


Don’t Want to miss anything from us

Get Weekly updates on the latest Beats from
Bihar right in your mail.



Born in Bihar, brought up in India!

Similar Beats

View all