Central stamps on the Supreme Court Judicial panel with two justices from Patna High Court

Finally, people from Bihar are getting the recognition and designation they deserve, this time the honor was given to ‘YOUR HONOUR’ as two justices were approved for the Supreme Court Judges Panel on February 4.

Justice Sanjay Karol and Justice Ahsanuddin Amanullah from Patna High Court were appointed as the Judges in the Panel of five of the Supreme Court. Justice Ahsanuddin Amanullah served as the judge in the High Courts of Bihar and Andhra Pradesh, and Justice Sanjay Karol served as the Judge of Patna and Tripura High Courts and is currently acting as the Chief Justice of Himachal Pradesh. Chief Justice of India Hon’ble DY Chandrachud administered the oath of the Judges Panel of five on February 6.

Last year in December 13, during the collegium meeting names of Justices Ahsanuddin Amanullah and Sanjay Karol were recommended for the panel, and later on February 4, Central Government stamped the recommendation.

Hon’ble Justice A Amanullah born in Bihar has a law degree from Patna Law College. He initiated his practise from the Patna High Court in 1991. He mainly practised in Patna High Court, but before the appoinement he served Delhi, Jharkhand and Calcutta High Courts. In October 2021, he was tranfered to Andhra Pradesh High Court and was re-transfered in Patna High Court last year in June.

Hon’ble Justice Sanjay Karol at 61 took the oath is the second senior judge amongst the bench. He was born in Shimla and has a Law Degree from Himachal Pradesh.   He also served as the Chief Justice of Tripura High Court. Currently, he is acting Chief Justice and former Judge of Himachal Pradesh High Court. In November 11, 2019 he was appointed as the Chief Justice of Patna High Court by the former President of India Ram Nath Kovind. His forte includes matters from taxation cases, crimina cases, civic cases, corporate cases and constitution cases.

The Bench of Judges in Supreme Court includes,

  • Hon’ble Justice Pankaj Mittal ( CJ of Rajasthan High Court) recieved his law degree from Meerat Law College.
  • Hon’ble Justice Sanjay Karol (CJ of Patna High Court ) recieved his law degree from Himachal Pradesh University.
  • Hon’ble Justice PV Sanjay Kumar  (CJ of Manipur High Court) recieved his law degree from Delhi University.
  • Hon’ble Justice Ahsanuddin Amanullah ( CJ of Manipur High Court) received his law degree from Patna Law College.
  • Hon’ble Justice Manoj Mishra ( Judge in Allahabad High Court).