Bihar's women's rugby team created history, won the national championship for the first time in the senior category

Bihar’s Women’s Rugby Team Created History, Won The National Championship For The First Time In The Senior Category

Bihar won the 9th Senior National Rugby Competition by defeating West Bengal on June 12, 2022. The tournament was played at Patliputra Sports Complex, Kankarbagh, where Bihar Rugby women players won against West Bengal by 15-5 and claimed the gold. Shweta became the best player whereas Dharmshila also played well. While Shweta scored 10 points, Dharamshila also gained 5 points in the match.

The whole stadium resonated with applause when Bihar gained a victory and won gold. West Bengal got the second position and won silver whereas for bronze two teams Odisha and Maharashtra played the contest for bronze. Odisha succeeds in the match by 24-12. Earlier, Semi-final was played between Odisha vs West Bengal and Bihar vs Maharashtra. Bihar made its place in the final by beating Maharashtra by 24-17 whereas Bengal defeated Odisha by 17-15.

This is the first time when Bihar Women Rugby player won a match in the senior category with such a scintillating score. The team played very well throughout the match. The opposition women’s team didn’t get a single chance to control the match. The winning team continued to celebrate their victory for a long time.

During the prize distribution ceremony, Union Minister Giriraj Singh, Bihar Health Minister Mangal Pandey and Union Secretary of Indian Rugby Football Gerald Prabhu were present as Chief Guest to congrats the winners. “It is a matter of great pride. Bihar Senior Women’s team has won this rugby title in the senior category for the very first time.  This victory is historic.” Said Ravindra Shankaran, Director General of Bihar Sports Development Authority.

Don’t Want to miss anything from us

Get Weekly updates on the latest Beats from
Bihar right in your mail.