Bihar included for 2018-19 Ranji Trophy season

The introduction of the pre-quarterfinals and the inclusion of Bihar in the Ranji Trophy 2018-19 season were among the major decisions taken by during the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s technical committee meeting held in Kolkata on Monday (April 16). The committee has stuck to the Home-Away format for the tournament.

Among other highlights was the decision to use pink Kookaburra ball for the Duleep Trophy which now will feature four teams as opposed to the three earlier. The Deodhar Trophy, the List-A tournament, will now also be a four-team affair instead of three.

The recommendations will be sent to the Committee of Administrators (CoA) after which the BCCI general body will approve them.

Following are the technical committee recommendations.

  • The Ranji Trophy 2018-19 season is proposed to have 4 Groups with the introduction of pre-quarterfinals. The format will remain as the Home-Away basis.
  • The proposed Ranji Trophy format will be implemented for Under-19 and Under-23 junior men’s tournaments.
  • It is proposed that the sequence of the BCCI 2018-19 domestic season is in the following order – Duleep Trophy, Vijay Hazare Trophy, Ranji Trophy League phase, Mushtaq Ali T20, Ranji Trophy knockouts, Deodhar Trophy.
  • It is proposed that Mushtaq Ali T20 will have semifinals after the super league stage.
  • The Duleep Trophy is to be played with four teams using the pink Kookaburra Ball. Each of the teams will represent the four groups of Ranji Trophy.
  • The Deodhar Trophy is proposed to have four teams, one each from the four Ranji Trophy groups.
  • The technical committee unanimously approved the inclusion of Bihar in the Ranji Trophy 2018-19 season. However, the committee felt in the view of the Supreme Court’s judgment dated July 18, 2016, the North Eastern associates and affiliate members must also be considered.

Source: WiseIndia