Bihar Diwas : It’s origin and history
Bihar Diwas

Bihar Diwas , It’s origin and history

Bihar Diwas is celebrated to mark the formation of the state of Bihar by the British.

This day the state of Bihar was created from the Bengal presidency in 1912.

The day’s official celebration started in 2011 with public holiday in Bihar. All offices, companies, and educational institutes coming under the central government and state government are closed.

Bihar Diwas is celebrated across many Indian and international cities including United States, Germany, Britain, Scotland,Australia, Canada, Bahrain, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Trinidad and Tobago Mauritius.

Historical Significance of Bihar Diwas

history of bihar Diwas

In 1764, the Battle of Buxar was fought between the joint forces of the Mughal king Shah Alam II, Nawab of Bengal, and Nawab of Awadh against the East India Company led by Hector Munro.

The battle was fought at Buxar, hence the name.

This battle was won by the East India Company defeating the Mughals and the Nawabs, resulting in them losing their rights over their territories.

The East India Company got the Diwani rights that are the rights to administer the management and collection of revenues. Those territories, then called the Bengal presidency, are the present-day states of West Bengal, Jharkhand, Bihar, Orissa, and Bangladesh.

On 22nd March, 1912, the new Governor of the Bengal presidency, Thomas Gibson Carmichael announced the Bengal presidency’s split in four parts- Bengal, Assam, Orissa, and Bihar. Thus, forming the state of Bihar on 22nd March 1912.

Here’s our other Latest posts

Don’t Want to miss anything from us

Get Weekly updates on the latest Beats from
Bihar right in your mail.