State Cabinet Approved the New DPR of Patna Metro

In a pivotal development for the Patna Metro project, the state cabinet approved the formation of a special purpose vehicle (SPV) — Patna Metro Rail Corporation Limited (PMRCL) — with an authorised capital of Rs 2,000 Crore. The decision was taken on Tuesday in a cabinet meeting headed by Nitish Kumar, chief minister of Bihar. After the meeting, Sanjay Kumar, principal secretary of the Chief Minister Secretariat, said that cabinet had approved the SPV proposal. Recently, RITES Ltd has transmitted the improvised detailed project report (DPR) of Patna Metro to Urban Development Department, Bihar. Initially, there was a proposal of two separate metro stations at High Court and Income Tax roundabout, but in the improvised DPR, it is stated that there will be a single metro station for both the places as both of them are at a very short distance. By cutting off a metro station, PMRCL will be able to reduce the cost of about Rs. 17000 Crores.

There will be two corridors under Patna Metro; East-West corridor and North-South corridor. The first corridor will expand from Danapur to Mithapur which will cover about 16.94 Kilometres while the second corridor will embellish from Patna Junction to new ISBT which will include about 14.45 Kilometres. Patna Junction will be an interchange station where people can get off the metro of one corridor and catch the other. There will be two stations at this junction where one of the stations will be underground, and the other one will be elevated.

East-West corridor- This route includes Danapur, Rupaspur, Saguna Mod, Raja Bazaar, Golf Club, Chidiyakhana, Rukunpura, Vikas Bhawan, Vidyut Bhawan, Patna Junction, Mithapur Bus Stand etc. The length of the East-West corridor is 16.94 kilometres in which 5.49 kilometres is elevated, and 11.21 kilometres is underground. The total number of metro stations in the East-West corridor is 12.

North-South Corridor- This route includes Patna Junction, Akashvani, Gandhi Maidan, Patna Medical College and Hospital, Premchand Rangshala, Nalanda Medical College and Hospital, Kumhrar, Mahatma Gandhi Setu Zeromile, ISBT etc. The length of the North-South corridor is 14.45 kilometres in which 9.90 kilometres will be elevated, and 5.55 kilometres will be underground. The total number of metro stations in North-South corridor is also 12.

An SPV is created for a single purpose, and in this case for the city’s Metro project. PMRCL will implement the project. The Rs 17,000-crore project is at the initial stage. The state is likely to send a revised detailed project report (DPR) to the Centre by next month, for its approval.

Photo for representational purpose only.

Do you like the article? Or have an interesting story to share? Please write to us at [email protected], or connect with us on Facebook and Twitter.

Quote of the day:“It’s only after you’ve stepped outside your comfort zone that you begin to change, grow, and transform.” 
― Roy T. Bennett